Your Rental Profit May Go Up In Smoke in North Park
Your Rental Profit May Go Up In Smoke
in North Park and in California.
Under current law, all smoke alarms must be listed as approved by the State Fire Marshall. As of July 1, 2014, in order for the alarm to be approved it must contain a non-replaceable, non-removable 10-year battery or be hardwired with battery back-up. The exception is smoke alarms in inventory by the landlord, owner, contractor, wholesaler or retailer on or before July 1, 2014, will be allowed until July 1, 2015.
As of this date all smoke detectors will be required to (1) Display the Manufacture Date; (2) Provide a place for writing in the installation date; (3) Incorporate a hush feature; and (4) have a non-removable, non-replaceable 10-year battery or be hardwired.
In addition as of January 1, 2014, permit issuers must not sign off on completion of work for dwelling units in which a building permit is required for work exceeding $1000 until permittee demonstrates that all required smoke detectors for dwelling are approved and listed by State Fire Marshall. As of January 1, 2016, owners of rental units shall install additional smoke alarms as needed to ensure compliance with current building standards. California Building Code requires one smoke detector be installed per bedroom as well as the hallway outside of any bedroom. As of January 1, 2014, owners of both multi-family and single family rental dwellings are required to test and maintain the smoke detectors.